Skip to content

100 Records: Quicksand – Slip

October 14, 2009

100 Records is a segment I had planned to do for the next issue of new noise and still do, but I figured that I might as well start posting some records up on here as well and make it a special segment for the blog. Basically all this is, is 100 of my favorite records taken from my itunes’s library and my personal record collection. They will not be in any specific order on here really, but maybe once I put this in the print issue I will order them from favorite to least favorite. As of right now thats just too hard to do, but I will say that this is probably one of my favorite records of all time, from one of my favorite bands.

Quicksand – Slip
February 9, 1993 | Polydor Records

51h3saatyel-_sl500_aa240_1993 was around the time when a lot of bands under the category of “post-hardcore” started to emerge. Bands like Helmet, Into Another, Seaweed, Handsome, Texas is the Reason, Orange 9mm, and Quicksand categorized this genre and era, and they all had similar qualities. All of these bands were made up of former members of well known and appreciated hardcore bands, such as Tom Capone (Beyond), Alan Cage (Burn), and Walter Schreifels (Gorilla Biscuits). This formula showcased the maturity that the four gained from their prior bands. This is the essential post-hardcore album.

The four piece rock outfit forged twelve heavy and meaningful songs that dealt with personal strife and emotions. Walter’s vocals will scream out at you and pull you in along with his guitar melodies. This was the first full length that they did and it has the best tone and production out of all of them. Alan Cages drumming was very loud and prominent, he laid down a style that many have been trying to imitate since this band disbanded. Opening this record is the track “Fazer” which is one of the heaviest 30 seconds of the entire record and Walter’s lyrics go hand in hand. “Dine Alone”, “Baphoment”, “Omision”, “Head to Wall”, and “Lie and Wait” are amongst my favorites off this record but I can’t really pick a favorite when the entire record is flawless from start to finish.

This groove oriented post-hardcore really opened my eyes to a new sound that I was not yet familiar with and this is one of the reasons why I love this era and genre so much. It still amazes me that “Slip” was their first full length after the E.P. With all the garbage that came out of the 90’s this band was sort of seen as on top and with them was a new and unique sound. They might have steered away from the musical aspect of hardcore/punk but they still had the mentally and that influence shows with their music. This record still holds true to this day, and it will never be a record that I will grow out of or have it lose meaning.

I wasn’t around during their run and I often find myself wondering what it would have been like to see these guys with Sick of It All and Orang 9mm at the lost horizon in Syracuse around 94. Its been well over 10 years since they have written and recorded a record and if they are still pulling people into their music than you know that the band is something more than just four guys playing music to sell.

Track Listing:
1. Fazer
2. Head To Wall
3. Dine Alone
4. Slip
5. Freezing Process
6. Lie And Wait
7. Unfulfilled
8. Can Opener
9. Omission
10. Baphomet
11. Too Official
12. Transparent

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

